• The RokSprocket Module needs the RokSprocket Component enabled.


 Department of Communication Scholarships
Hanna Endowed Communication Scholarship
The Hanna Endowed Communication Scholarship was established in December 2009 to honor Dr. Michael S. Hanna, Professor Emeritus of Communication. Its purpose is to encourage a communication junior or senior with a minimum GPA of 3.0 at USA to excel in their track of study by awarding $2000.
The scholarship is dedicated to the memory of Hanna, a respected professor, mentor and communication practitioner, who served USA and the Mobile community for more than 25 years. He was chair of the department for five years, co-authored six textbooks and received numerous awards, including “Best Faculty Member” for Outstanding Service to USA International Students.
The scholarship's purpose is to encourage communication students at South Alabama to excel in their track of study by awarding a monetary scholarship.
Applicants should meet the following criteria:
1. Hold junior/senior status with a declared major in communication
2. Have a minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA
3. Demonstrate financial need.
Nadia Bush
Chair, Scholarship and Awards Committee
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
USA Department of Communication
6021 USA Drive South, Mobile, AL 36688


Holly McKinley, Advertising



Jaclyn LeBatard, Public Relations
Destinee Bliss, Public Relations
Mary Beth Lursen, Print Journalism
Kristina Machen, Advertising
Timothy Borland, Print Journalism
Jimmy Orum, Public Relations
Bryan Bolin, Digital Cinema and Television
Amber Beasley Day, Digital Cinema and Television
2010-2011 Andrea Parker, Digital Cinema and Television  
2009-2010 Kendra Day, Broadcast Journalism